Feature

Public Call To Arms – Cover This

Someone really needs to cover this, or at least listen to it.

First off, there’s the title, All My Hate And My Hexes Are For You is a stupendously awesome title for a song, it’s just the shizz. Then there’s the fact that it’s a damn good song from a damn good band who are criminally underrated and underheard. Seriously, go listen to Sleep Forever by them, it’s an awesome album. Like Suicide mixed with My Bloody Valentine or something. I’d properly review but I’m lazy, it’d be a solid 4 to 4 and a half stars though.

And here’s what holds them back from 5 stars – that they hold back. They never cut loose. I know that’s kind of a given when you mix those two bands but come on, just once lose it a bit, show some emotion. Especially on this song. This song is dying for some killer edge a la For Reverend Green by Animal Collective, it’s dying for someone to really attack it. I’m not saying the current version isn’t good, it’s really really good, but I think it’d be great to hear a change, a different take, and I think I would have loved it even more if they’d had the balls to do it a bit.

I mean the lyrics and the whole thing are just so good, they just drip with latent malice, they’re perfect for a bit of controlled aggression.

So yeah, someone cover this and just assault it, not like heavy metal assault obviously but more of a Pixies kind of way. Please and thank you.

Needless post of the day done.

Standard

Leave a Reply

