Review

TRANCEXUAL

Trance is a thriller by Danny Boyle, starring James McAvoy, Rosario Dawson and Vincent Cassel. Before seeing the film a friend told me it was, “something about an art heist”. After seeing the film, I can say it’s not really about an art heist because that would be boring. It’s a stylish gangster/amnesia/hypnotherapy/stalker/domestic violence film. I don’t know many films like this. I would give a brief outline of the plot, but when I tried to structure it in my own head I instantly fainted. It’s non-linear and there are so many twists and turns that if I told you anything in detail it would spoil it.

McAvoy’s acting is solid and he plays both the good and the bad guy convincingly. Dawson was good, but her character did seem to be just fulfilling a sexy scientist kind of role and seemed a bit empty. Cassel played the bad guy, the good guy, the bad guy and the good guy again well. The only problem I have with him is his ambiguous accent, which became such a big deal for me as the film went on it turned into its own sub-plot in my head. The soundtrack is fantastic (obviously, it’s Danny Boyle) and fits the film perfectly. The only substantial criticism I have is of the pacing, which at times made it tedious. But that’s not that big of a deal, if you stick with it you’ll be rewarded in the end.

To summarise, Trance is a film that you go and see and think it’s one thing, then it turns into another, then it turns into something else, and before you know it it’s snuck up behind you and whacked you on the back of the head with a salmon.

A-

Frankie Plummer

Standard

Leave a Reply

